Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

These boots are made for walking

Possibly not the most exciting photo in the world but I thought I should share the story behind it. These ar emy new walking boots purchased during a spot of retail therapy yesterday. I didn't intend on getting myself new boots (although I did need some) when we headed out, we were just replacing a jacket for Maddy.

Last summer when we were up north we had to get Maddy a waterproof jacket. We got a really good one in a wee shop in Lochinver and also bought the zip-in fleece for it. Unfortunately Maddy left the jacket at a friends house and somehow it has disappeared from there. Not wanting to waste the fleece that went with it, and given that it was a very good jacket, we decided to try and replace it. It was made by a company called Keela who make excellent quality mountaineering and expedition clothing. Unfortunately we'd not been doing too well tracking any down locally, so I checked their website. It was in the process of being updated but there was contact details and an address on there so I fired off an email asking if they had a factory shop, and was told that there was one at their Glenrothes factory. The opening hours are pretty limited 9.30 - 4.30 Tuesday to Friday and 10 - 1 on a Saturday, but the shop was fantastic. We replaced Maddy's jacket for £20 (We could have done so for £10 if we'd gone for a factory second), I got these boots for £30, we picked up an inflatable double airbed with built in pump for my dad for £12 and various other wee bits and pieces. We'll definetely be heading back when we have more money and, if you live in Fife or the Lothians and want any walking or climbing gear I'd recommend checking them out. They seem to do Keela, Highlander and Campri stuff plus some other brands.

well worth a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.