Penguin Droppings

By gen2

A Rum View

Wild Arum, aka cuckoo pint, lords-and-ladies, jack-in-the-pulpit (Arum maculatum).

I saw another blipper's post of this same plant a couple of days ago and it prompted me to check out a local site where I used to see many of these.

I can report that they are still there but not doing as well as they used to.  The main area where a dozen or so heads of berries would usually be seen in late summer, was only showing two spathes and the foliage looked weak.  It might be climate (they like moist soils) or it might be increased competition from the highly invasive few-flowered leek which is almost smothering it.

Fortunately, further into the woodland away from the f-f leeks, I found a much healthier clump which provided my blip for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.