That Will Do!

By flumgummery

We were out in West Lothian today and parked by a field. While the others attended to their business I remained in the car and, across the field, I could see a small patch of colour and wondered whether this was, perhaps, blossom on a small wayside crab apple tree or something else. Before the others reappeared I wandered over to check.

It was, as you see, something else, namely red campion (Silene dioica) which is a common wild flower. From there I also spotted a small bird hopping in the hedge but the camera could not distinguish sufficient detail to determine its identity so I conclude that it was a house sparrow.

All a bit silly, two very common species spotted, nothing exciting at all. However, by then the others had returned to the car and we all left to find ourselves some lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.