The Mole Photographer

By cherylgabriel

NEW KID ON THE BLOCK

Picture the scene.
We live under a flight path a stone's throw from the airport; within a few strides of the train, bus, boat, bicycle and yes - cable car services.
So I think we really do deserve the bird sanctuary.
Tucked away beneath the planes and overhead trains, there is indeed some wetlands, reed-beds and perfect nesting conditions for a considerable variety of water birds.
Today during my visit, I spotted a new bird. A whole flock of them in fact.
It took me ages googling 'birds with chocolate brown heads' before I discovered (with a hint of disappointment I have to confess) that they are Black Headed Gulls.
I was expecting something more exotic. And from abroad.
Apparently the adults have chocolate heads during the summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.