Free Born

Picking things up from this time last year, I'd like to wish all the free commons of England and the wider world a happy Lilburne Day; whenever you get a spare minute, go and find yourself some of Honest John's writings (they're readily available online) and keep the flame of freeborn rights burning in your mind. If you get a further minute, visit Amnesty International and see what you can do to continue Lilburne's fight in the 21st century.

If you have an extra three minutes and eleven seconds left after that, why not listen to this musical history lesson from the excellent Ferocious Dog?


We were fed upon a diet of lies, we rallied to the cause
In history it's all the same, the poor folk fight the wars
There's not a tear that fills my sad blue eyes
As we gaze into the blood red sky

Now I'm standing in the rain against a blood soaked wall
We the proletariat still answer to the call
For those who judge me won't you spare a thought
For all the wars and battles that we fought

Parliament promised changes, we fought against the king
In the end, when the war was won, it didn't change a thing
My only crime was fighting for a cause
Against this tyranny and unjust laws

Cromwell had the victory and power in his hand
Freethinkers and Levellers cut down by his command
Freeborn John your vision lingers on
If not in law then in my mind and song
Free me

In the land that calls my name
Can't you see we're all to blame
Go and hang your heads in shame
Sea green ribbon worn for me
In the name of liberty
So our children can be free


Lyrics: Ferocious Dog

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.