Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Winners

For my Bank Holiday excursion I headed down to Ossett for the West Riding FA County Cup final between Knaresborough Town and Pontefract Collieries. 

It turned out to be a fairly one-sided game, not helped by Knaresborough going down to 10 men after half an hour. Pontefract were the higher ranked team anyway, playing one level above. 4-0 the final score, and they were happy to raise a trophy to bring their season to a close.

Earlier, I’d popped into the graveyard of Ossett’s Trinity Church (extra) and seen my first Large White butterfly of the year, alongside Small White and Speckled Wood.

Earlier still, I popped out onto Moorside hoping for my first Green Hairstreak butterflies of the year, and managed to find some (extra).

The close of the match and the journey home saw the arrival of thunderstorms and heavy downpours, but luckily the bulk of the day was fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.