Transitoire

By Transitoire

Coucou!

I love days off, especially days off that involve going and exploring! I really feel like I'm starting to get to know Quimper now, and it is getting easier and easier to orientate myself...the good shops are found, the nice restaurants and the good coffee shops, what more could a girl need? Today was spent shopping, doing cultural things and generally being able to spend a little bit of time just to ourselves.

I think I am so lucky that Jen and I get on; I don't know whether I've mentioned our introduction in much detail before. So I didn't know who I was going to be working with (not even a name!) until the day before she arrived. She didn't even know my name until an hour before we met. After a hasty introduction we both had to start work, and then the next day we were left alone together to cope. We're just rather lucky that we have similar senses of humour, and also a similar outlook on life and what we want to do in our leisure time. We spend pretty much 100% of our time in each other's pockets; we eat together, cook together, work together, clean together, shop together...well, you get the idea. We've ended up having lots of little jokes that only we would understand, a playlist of random songs that we both enjoy (and here millions of times over and over again on French radio), and she might just about be getting used to having a camera lens pointed in her face the majority of the time. I think it is going to be strange when the summer ends and all of a sudden I'm not living on top of someone and spending all of my time with them!

Somehow the days seem to go so fast here, how I do not know...and before we knew it we were back home and heading out for dinner. Destination: La Popote, a little restaurant in Fouesnant that we have promised ourselves for ages that we would go out to. In fact, pretty much every time we pass it! As it has the same owners as The Buccaneer we had high hopes for said restaurant, and you know what? It didn't disappoint. Not being on a beach the menu was more meat based, slow cooked meats in fact, and my beef was absolutely delicious. We will most definitely be going there again! By the time I got home I had just enough time to finally have a long Skype catch-up with my parents, it is so strange when I haven't spoken to them for a while...I really do miss them, and thank goodness that we can communicate so easily now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.