Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

All Saints Church

I took a detour this morning to avoid a road closure.  It probably would have been quicker to have stayed on route and queued with the traffic but instead I had a much more enjoyable drive along lots of little country lanes.  I passed this church on the way; All Saints Church between the villages of Alby and Thwaite.  I've noticed churches with round towers since moving to Norfolk and a little bit of research tells me that there are 133 of them in Norfolk.

This particular one was built in the 11th Century but it is believed the tower dates from the 14th Century to replace an earlier one.  Another aisle was added in the 15th Century and a Sunday School room in 1835.  As far as I could tell it is still in use.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.