airedaleknitter

By airedaleknitter

And again!

So sorry , but I am getting a little obsessed with my bull finch. I have also seen his female friend, so I am hoping we might get some fledglings too.

I have been reading about the damage they cause to orchards, and the fact that Henry VIII offered £1 for each one killed. I planted the two crab apples in the garden with the wildlife in mind. I was delighted with this blip https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2949762358450326535
and equally so with today’s. I just hope the blackbird doesn’t go hungry this coming winter!

In other news got a message from Miss H to say she had two beekeepers in her loft. The family had been in the garden, Libby went into the house to go to the toilet, and went back to tell them there were loads of bees in the hallway. Apparently she wasn’t wrong! The beekeeper had to call in reinforcements, but thankfully all now safe and sound, but apparently a very large swarm. Libby has been fascinated and loved all the excitement, Miss H who has previously had hypnotherapy to help with her fear of wasps is very proud of how she handled it, but I don’t think she will be taking up beekeeping any time soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.