Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Drinking in!

The sunshine brings out the butterflies and the field this morning was awash with Meadow browns.

Rather like Mary Poppins skipping lightly through the meadow grasses....lol...I was in hot pursuit. They did insist on settling deep down into the foliage so getting a shot was tricky as all the stalks kept getting in the way with strong shadows from the rays. Don't think for one incy minute I'm complaining about the sun !!! Needed a higher level shot on a buttercup - like this:)

'Have you lost something?' came hollering over from the fence as I knelt with only my head above the tops of the grasses. Tempted to reply, 'Only my marbles!' I wafted the camera which the lady looked quite bemused at. Not a blipper then!

This is a male which is smaller and darker than the female with less prominent eyes on the forewing. Like other browns they they have only 4 walking legs. There appeared to be quite a few scraps going on between the males and very few females in evidence though I didn't care what sex they were so long as I got a photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.