Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Sky Pointing

It’s three years since our last visit to Bempton, and it’s wonderful to be back at this magnificent seabird city. 

By the time we arrive, the morning mist has cleared and the light is perfect to photograph the magnificent gannets. G sets out to walk along the cliffs leaving me to make slower progress - I’m back to needing the help of my walking pole. Eventually I reach the far lookout which offers the best views of these magnificent birds. They’re everywhere - soaring through the air over the sea, nesting on the arch below, or tucked into tussocks of grass on the cliff edge. The problem is just where to point my camera. 

It takes some time to manage any in-flight shots. My reactions seem too slow, the flight paths too unpredictable, the choice of subject just too much. But eventually I manage to discipline myself enough to focus both my mind and camera on individual subjects. Then there are the land-based dramas taking place, the courting rituals, the sky pointing so reminiscent of the Boobies of Galapagos, the bickering over cliff space, the preening rituals. I could just stand and watch for hours. 

So today’s blip belongs to the Bempton gannets - and of course, I can’t restrict myself to one. I’m afraid my ‘posting on the day’ pledge has failed at the first hurdle! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.