ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

The 'Thornsche Molen', Persingen

Built in 2015 to replace a windmill that had been constructed here in 1809 and totally 'annihilated' during WW2.  The German border is only 100 meters away, after all.  Indeed, it took 70 years before they replaced it.

Gorgeously sunny day for a drive and photo shoot!

The extra shot includes the parking area and café restaurant that was conducting very brisk business at that moment.  There might not be many parked cars, but the bicycle parking area behind the hedges was full.  Due to the fabulous weather, tourists both local and German were very mobile.  The B&Bs are fully booked, according to a couple who had come all the way from Lisse, some of the rooms for a full week.

Of course I had to be back in time so that AW could use the car after dinner for his usual Tuesday evening bridge.  He'll be losing his partner after the summer because she and her husband are moving to live closer to their youngest son in a place nearer Rotterdam.  Her husband has advanced-stage Alzheimer's and their youngest son and DIL have agreed to help out.  AW is now contemplating a move to the Monday evening club where he will be inundated with invites.  It's an option.

Thankful for today's excellent weather and a successful hunt.  Thankful also for my MOOCs.  I am on a roll, and should be kept sufficiently distracted till the wee hours of 16 May.  Sometimes, I find myself wishing I had a mum to talk things over with.  I'm so used to looking at things relatively and reminding myself to be this and stay that.  AW is very understanding and patient but it's not the same, is it.  YouTube to the rescue!  Enough 'ideal' pairs of parents there!  Shall I share a piece of music I found?  It's actually quite cool.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yuTMWgOduFM&

Thank you for dropping by and leaving stars.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.