fitzbilly

By fitzbilly

Keeping Cool

Well we finally got to Slimbridge, using mrsfb's Boundless free entry. We picked what must have been the hottest day of the year so far. I got lots of 'record' shots of some lovely birds but the blip was my favourite of the day. I liked the shadows falling on the swan. It was the first one I took too.

In the extra, almost the last shot I got, 80 or so later. A record shot of some twitchers.

There were lots of Tilley hats on display today including ours. And lots of humongous lenses, many with camouflage finishes.

This was our first visit since 2019. I have to say I was disappointed that none of the refreshment kiosks were open, so we had to walk all the way back to the main building to get some drinks and cake, and, later on, ice creams. I don't understand why. It was really busy and really hot, they would have done a roaring trade in kiosk sales. Next time we go I think we will bring our own food and drinks.

In other (strange) news, I was just telling mrsfb on the drive there that I had felt a bit unwell during the night when ping! ping! we both got text messages from the GP surgery inviting us to a 'Dying Matters Event' this evening in Bourton, to tell us how to start those difficult conversations about dying! We didn't go.

One year ago:
Mrs Bunn, The Baker's Wife

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.