Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lights! Action!

So, after the whole house lights 'tripped' three times - when only a bedside light was on - that's several times over the last few days. Something's amiss...

I rang HomeForce, a company who has every tradesperson, or even just a handyman, you could need. I've used them many a time. But wanting an electrician on the same day? No chance till next week.

I remembered a young chap, a friend of Elizabeth's, so I rang him. He came this afternoon. Not good news either. It looks like the lights in the bathroom were put in by cowboys! He's written a list of what they've done wrong, what corners were cut, and all the unsafe wiring! He's fixed it temporarily so that hopefully they don't trip, and will come next week and do the big job, replacing all the lights with safe ones for a bathroom (moisture etc.)

JR has been like a woman possessed today, starting at 6am, cooking! She then went to the gyms, came home and had some breakfast, then went to the supermarket. She cleaned the grouting in the kitchen, then she and Archie walked into town to pick up an item she'd ordered. (14,000-odd steps). She came back home and assembled a vegetarian moussaka for tea tomorrow with our visitors. 

I did take Archie out this morning, but it wasn't as warm as yesterday, and I thought I could do without my hat. Well, no. Down at the Meadows there was still a cool breeze, so I cut my walk short, and my step count is not worth mentioning.

Photo by JR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.