The Pensioner

By Pensioner

A first!

After much minkying about in the morning - and yes, she even scooted all the way to the co-op and back, we took to the water. She was unhappy when I showed her the lifejacket back at the house. She wailed. She didn’t like it. It was too big. I hadn’t anticipated this so I weighed her - 18kg - and showed her the label: 15-30kg. And assured her that she could take it off when we got to the beach. And that seemed to mollify her. 
Over to the yard, and we carried the dinghy down the slip and off we set across the harbour - gulp! But she was happy as Larry and quite unconcerned. Phew. There were even seals to view, basking on one of the pontoons. And we got all the way to our own little beach across  from the house where we played for an hour. Happy day for Grandad.
And later, it was still so warm that I wore a t-shirt to the Diggers. And my denim jacket. Double denim! The SK being away….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.