madwill's world

By madwill

A Yorkshire White Rose

Well maybe - I found some lovely dog roses out on my walk today - there was hazy sunlight thanks to a thin cloud cover so it photographed nicely without too many harsh shadows.

Pedant alert….in case you were worried that I have got this upside down there is a difference in the way the flower is displayed depending on where you are in Yorkshire (apparently). Traditionally the rose is displayed with a single petal at the top in the North Riding and West Riding but with it at the bottom in the East Riding of Yorkshire - I know there was a right and wrong way - but didn’t realise the difference. As I am in West Yorkshire I think that this is the correct way up!

I also found some sweet little purple flowers (see extra) - I believe it is Common Vetch..related to the domestic SweetPea…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.