Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

I'm keeping an eye on you!

Mrs Swan is still on the nest at Blackford Pond. She got up to check her eggs at one point and all seven are still present and correct. As I was leaving the pond I saw that she had left the nest and was close by in the water with her mate. She had covered the eggs, I don't know if that's to keep them warm or to hide them from predators. Maybe both. The water level has gone down quite a bit since I was last at the pond and that leaves the nest more vulnerable as it's almost possible to get there from the bank if you don't mind getting fairly muddy. I hope when the eggs hatch that they will move their family to the island. They won't be so easy to watch there because of the vegetation, but they will be safer.

I saw my first baby birds of the year, four mallard ducklings with their mother. I guess she started out with more than that. They were swimming about in the middle of the pond which isn't the safest of places. I couldn't see any sign of the little grebe nest which I saw at my last visit, but I'm not that surprised as it didn't look as if it was in the best position. I didn't see them nesting anywhere else, but that could mean that they've gone for more cover which would be a good idea.

It was a beautiful afternoon, warm - almost hot! And this evening I've got the window open for the first time in many months. It would be lovely if it continued but it looks as if there will be rain for part of the day over the next few days. Oh well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.