weewilkie

By weewilkie

We say that there

A willow warbler decants its song into the evening fields. A migrant bird not long arrived. I saw it out walking the dog earlier, and its tumbling melody had me thinking back on school today. 
Yoruba is our celebrated language this term and I was working with three girls to put together a presentation for the School Assembly. They are all fairly recently arrived from Nigeria and much of their talk was about life there and the differences from Scotland. 
"One thing is, there is no electricity there, we have generators."
"Yeah, like, my mum says if I do my chores she will turn on the generator and I can watch tv for 20 minutes."
"Uh-uh, I need my generator for the AC! I ain't sweating like a Christmas goat!"
They all fall about laughing, decanting their joy into corridors of their Glasgow school.
"We say that there!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.