Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Northern lights

I had fallen asleep on the settee when TSM woke me up at a quarter to eleven to say that she had been reading on the BBC about people being out and about across the country looking at the Northern Lights. I blearily agreed to drive fifteen minutes up to Chobham Common with her to get a look with a bit less light pollution.  She was sober but I had had a couple of glasses of red wine so the adventure had the added benefit of a mildly alcoholic haze from my perspective. This was made even more surreal by The Dizzle calling us within a minute of us leaving home. His Find My app had alerted him to the fact that we had hit the road and he and Ms R had guessed what we were up to as they were also out trying to get a glimpse of the phenomenon. We duly met in the Steep Hill Lane car park where there were already a few other cars, which was a good spot unencumbered by trees but accompanied by the roar of traffic from the M3 in a deep ravine below. 

This selection of pictures includes ones taken by us in Surrey, some from one of my many brothers in Snowdonia, and even a couple from the Girl Racer over on British Columbia in Canada. One of those things that brings people together across the world...

I had been watching the skies for several minutes before I realised that The Dizzle and Ms R had bought Henry the cat with them. Henry has a cat basket with safety straps and a hole where he pops his head out. Makes him look like a feline tank commander.  He is a much travelled moggy who gets taken on walks and to pubs but this was his first encounter with the aurora borealis. 

It was pretty spectacular and I’m glad we went. I played that bit of music from Close Encounters of the Third Kind on my iPhone to add to the mood but got told to turn it off. So I got out my Night Sky app and checked out the stars, which were very visible. 

Earlier in the day I had spent several hours making the pub at the bottom of the garden bigger by clearing out the back and pushing the internal wall back. It now looks fab and I treated TSM to a French cafe welcome home, with a table for two and music from Midnight in Paris (see extra). 

I also had the great pleasure of an early morning visit from Ms R and a late afternoon visit from The Yoga Mama, both of whom sat in the garden with me for an hour in the sunshine.

All rather fab. Excellent day in fact. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.