Meles

By meles

That London

D went off loaded down with stuff for his first week in residence at the island. I fossicked around making sure I had everything (and wasn't carrying absolutely anything in excess of requirements) and got the train just after  11 am. It was totally stowed, with both people and luggage, due partly to the fact that Lumo's drivers weren't participating in the ASLEF strike so there was a bit over overspill from a cancelled LNER train. Heard from D that there's now supposed to be a 'potential problem' with the water in the cottage, so he'll be back home again tonight. Words (about HES) fail me - well, they don't fail me, but they're unprintable.

Got to Kings Cross on time and easily transitioned on to a no 73 bus which took me up the road to the end of June's street. Let myself in via a keysafe since she was still in MK attending a farewell bash for a colleague at the OU. After she arrived back we had a bit of a blether then headed down Essex Rd to the Alpaca - not the folk club's normal venue but they were forced out of their regular one by a 'corporate event'. Several chums turned up, as well as a surprise great-nephew! Hadn't seen Myles for years.....he was looking very well. Turned out both he and June had run the London Marathon recently, so they talked running a bit. The evening seemed to go well - first time I've felt too warm in months!

The photo is of June's back garden - what I assume to be her garden shed under the ceanothus reminded me strongly of the hermit's cell on Inchcolm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.