David J. Rose

By djrose007

Nigel 'Nipper'

A bike blip but not of me. Nipper was the only help I had on the RBL Riders Stand today at The Little Vintage Show, in Cambridge, Gloucestershire. Cambridge is a small village rather than the City of Cambridge on the othe side of the country.
I don't know how much we took in donations today, I'll use the same pot and bucket that I used today. They have seals on and must not be opened, or tampered with in any other way, until I'm ready to actually count the donations. It then has to be recorded, pennies, twopences, five pences, etc....... and notes of course, all individually and then the total paid into the RBLR bank account for the treasurer to transfer it to the Poppy Appeal. It could go straight to the poppy appeal account but then we would not have a record of how much the Riders Branch contributed to it. Since the formation of the RIders Branch, in 2004, we have raised £1,905,592.85 for the Poppy Appeal. 
Yes, that is nearly 2 MILLION £'s !
It was fairly quiet today, compared to some shows we attend, but people are still very generous. Two young girls, probably about 12 years old, came to the stand and wanted a snap-band and one of those clip on reflective plastic poppies. They dug into their little purses and I asked 'Is this coming out of your pocket money?' to which they replied that yes it was. I told them to have the items and I thought they were very thoughtful to use their pocket money but they insisted on putting it into the pot. Other people put 10 or 20 pound notes in when they've only wanted a single pin, particularly the new 'D-Day 80' pins that I picked up last weekend at the NMA.
It's quite heart-warming.
I'm there again tomorrow but looks like I'll have two helpers, it means we can give each other a break to look around at the vintage cars, motorbikes, steam engines etc. Oh, and get an ice cream of course, it was quite hot today.
And Nigel's bike? it's a Honda Africa Twin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.