Chris_P

By Chris_P

‘A Shell?’

parkrunday again, and today, for the first time since I hurt my ankle and foot over a month ago, I was dipping at least a toe in the parkrun waters! Gingerly - and very, very slowly - but out there again!

While waiting for the start, I spotted this tiny shell on the wall separating the prom from the beach. It looked very unusual, and I realised (looking at it sideways) that it wasn't a shell!

I discovered later that it was a striped millipede that “when threatened, curls up into a tight spiral, protecting their soft undersides with their hard exoskeleton” - just like a shell, I suppose!

It couldn't have found me threatening, as it suddenly unwound and was off!
(Extras) 

And the good news is that, so far, this morning's outing seems not to have had any I'll effects on my foot - fingers crossed!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.