ZE1Christie

By ZE1Christie

MV Demetrios II

A lovely warm day, with wall to wall sunshine, hardly a cloud in the sky.  Breezy at times. Must have been heavy rain overnight, balcony was flooded this morning, plus side, so many flowers in bloom. 

Up early and headed down for breakfast.  I headed out for a four mile hike this morning.  I saw various scary looking insects and spiders on my walk.  Returned to the hotel, a lazy day by the pool.  Evening meal in the hotel, then off to see a band in the local pub.

The past couple of days I've spotted this odd boat lying off the coast, I had to go investigate as it wasn't lying like a normal anchored boat should.  As I came closer, I became clear it was a wreck.  Built in Germany in 1964, it came to an end here in 1998, when it ran aground on a reef.  It was carrying cargo of timber from Greece to Syria through stormy seas, when disaster struck.  I bet it's made a great sanctuary for fish and other maritime animals.  I need to invest in another proper camera soon, to get better snaps.  The shipwreck MV Demetrios II, Chloraka, neat Paphos, Cyprus.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.