Groggster

By Groggster

Phone Box Enjoyment At The Tickled Trout

I was up very early this morning as I couldn't sleep - so at 4 am I was reading my book with a cup of coffee and then went back to bed again. The caffeine probably wasn't the best idea as it took me a while to rejoin the land of slumber. Having said that I did still manage to resurface at a reasonable hour and get out for a run, although I felt a bit tired afterwards.
We therefore didn't venture out again until a lunchtime imbibement at The Tickled Trout in East Farleigh. We haven't frequented it for years and it has recently reopened under new management so we thought we should give it another try. It has a lovely, almost sunken, garden which sits well below the nearby busy road so is much quieter than you would expect. What a fantastic spot just to sit and enjoy a pint and a packet of cheese and onion crisps!
Today's shot was taken outside The Tickled Trout - I just liked the combination of the redundant red phone box, the green garden parasols, a promotional sign which included the word enjoy and the splash of yellow flowers from the planters just outside the entrance. 
It also stirred some memories both of red phone boxes (which have now all but disappeared from our everyday environment)  - as when we first moved down south from Scotland in the early 70's we didn't have a phone in the house so had to walk down the road with a fistful of coins to use the phone box if we wanted to make a call - and the pub itself. I used to work in the nearby town of Maidstone and would sometimes nip out to The Tickled Trout in my lunch hour for a cheeky beer, pop quickly to visit my mum for a cuppa and still manage to get back to work in time, although on some occasions this would literally be with seconds to spare! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.