But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Who Put That Bl**dy Lamppost There.

I'm surprised to discover that I don't have a blip for the last two days. I knew that I'd missed one but it's too late know to put either right now.

I went out to see the bees today and found what I'd half expected, they're suffering from "K" wing virus and, maybe, a few other things as well. The signs are pretty obvious, the pair of wings on each side do not join together but form a "K" shape with the body which forms the upright of the letter. The two wings of each pair should "Velcro" together to form a single unit, if this does not happen then the bee cannot fly. Treating for varroa (again) may help, but I suspect it's now too late.

The Wednesday trike is now in racing shape so I took it on a trial run to Tranent (and, while I was there, checked to see if the scones and coffee were still up to scratch). Found a few minor problems the most serious of which was that the new chain slipped a bit when using the smaller chain rings, It should have bedded in by the time of the race in a fortnight so I'll just make a note to change the sprockets when I next do the chain.

The blip is of one of the Prestonpans murals, this is on the side of a "convenience" store; a temptation I shall resist is to comment that it must sell conveniences. It is across the road from The Gothenburg Inn (aka The Goth), the cultural centre of The Pans. There was a third lad in shot but he appeared to be doing something rather disgusting; not wanting to offend ladies of a certain age I magicked him away.
Now for the lamppost, not only is it obscuring the mural, it is also near enough to the centre of the pavement to be a hazard. We have one like that in Roslin, you only have to be watching for traffic before crossing the road and you can walk slap into it - and it hurts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.