curns' corner

By curns

Not stopping

We headed to the station just before 7pm. At one point, two trains were waiting on the platform, and neither of them officially stopped at Raynes Park. I've never seen the 'stand back' signs active on both platforms at once (although I can't say that I look too often). A few minutes later, we were in Wimbledon. 

It's only a short walk to The Alexandra, where we did the pub quiz with friends. PY and I were the first to arrive, and we found the table that we had been allocated. The others arrived a few moments later, and we settled in a drink and a menu. I ordered the special pulled pork burger, which was delicious and happily served before the quiz started.

The first round was to identify celebrities from the poorly photocopied pictures of their eyes. M was excellent at it and got most right on the first pass. I have no idea how he did that.   The rounds got progressively more difficult, although the music round was pleasingly easier than I find them most of the time. There is a round in which it is better to avoid answering questions you are unsure of because the entire round is forfeit if you get any wrong. We decided only to answer one question, which worked to our advantage (although when the answers were revealed, we would have had three correct answers).

In the end, we came third. We'd christened our team "Fewer Brain Cells Than When We First Met", which is sadly true, but it turns out that there were enough brain cells between us to get a decent score. We all enjoyed it so much that we are planning another next month. I worried we couldn't chat while the quiz was happening and that our real aim of a nice catch-up would fail. I need not have worried, you can do both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.