curns' corner

By curns

Path

I started the day reading the news, trying to avoid falling into an April Fool's Day trap. I managed that but may have fallen for something yet to be revealed as a joke. I can't think what it would be. Most of the day was recovering from late night return from the holiday and yesterday’s busy day. My suitcase is now unpacked and I even washed some things. I’m quite pleased to have done it and not left it for the next few weeks.

The quest for a 'hot cross Bunettone' (Panettone meets a hot cross bun in a spiced Italian cake) took us to Wimbledon in the late afternoon. There, we tried Little Waitrose before walking back to Raynes Park to search again at the bigger store nearby. We have yet to find one.

On the walk back, PY guided us to the railway line. I never knew the track alongside the line was known as Railway Path. We didn't take it and crossed the bridge to return along Kingston Road. There are roadworks and three-way lights at the crossing. For some reason, PY decided to wait until the crossing light changed to green because he'd pressed the button. I couldn't bear to stand there while there was no traffic moving. We both think we did the right thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.