eyesee

By davidc

Tiny Tuesday

I've messed around with this much longer than I should! You may realise that it's not quite what it looks like at first sight, as I don't think a bee usually keeps its wings open when sucking up nectar or gathering pollen.

So in fact the bee is sadly a dead one which my Editor found in the house 2 or 3 days ago, but knowing what I'm like she asked me if I wanted it for a blip (silly question!). So I kept it for the TT challenge today. I thought it would look best in a natural environment rather than sitting on my desk - finding a suitable dandelion in the garden was unsurprisingly no problem. I then set it up indoors. The bee was a bit unsteady(!) and for a moment it went face down into the pollen in the middle of the flower so I had to dust its eyes with a soft paintbrush (the rest of the pollen wouldn't easily come off). I wanted a macro shot so went for a focus stack to get as much as possible in focus at once. Blip done - at last! (Oh, and the blue sky was added afterwards from my collection of skies - there hasn't been much blue here today.)

(A bit more tech: The OM1 can focus stack 15 layers in camera but I wanted to use more layers than that, so this is 40 layers focus bracketed in camera and stacked in Affinity.)

Thanks of course to Incredibish for hosting the challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.