curns' corner

By curns

View?

After a Cafe Nero at Shepherd's Bush, Thursday is office day and again, I started with back-to-back meetings: the first few required one of the small booths and a screen, but the reamineder were in bigger meeting rooms and in-person. There is a lot of discussion during the office days, but I don't write too much. That's OK and is, gradually, finding a nice balance. We are all starting to plan the Thursday meetings for those things where it is advantageous to be in the same room.

I had lunch with Duncan, who was in to hand his laptop back before he departed. It was a heavy lasagne. After lunch, I felt that I had over-faced myself, but by the end of the day, and when my arm was twisted (not too hard) to join a few people for Duncan's second round of leaving drinks, I was glad of the substantial meal. We did not stay out long - I was home before 9pm - but it was nice to have a farewell.

Walking to Shepherd's Bush to catch the Overground to Clapham Junction, I saw the blocky view of the side of Westfield. There are lots of towers going up all around here, but this looks very low rise. It's not as low as it appears, but I wonder when the first skyscrapers will be seen above the shopping centre.

Most importantly, I was back at Raynes Park in time to vote in the local and mayoral elections. I had my driving licence with me so the new requirements for photo ID were not a problem.  There polling station was quiet when I went about 9pm but I ticked my boxes and, hopefully, put each of the coloured papers in the correct ballot box. We don’t get the results until Saturday so there’s no need to stay awake watching the BBC.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.