SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Strike

When taking a break from marking this morning, I was reading through the Klaksvík community council pdf, "Town of History, Experience and Prospective 2017" when I spotted a reference to "Straight Ahead", the band I'm seeing on Saturday, leading me to find out more about them. From Klaksvík, they released the first Faroese rock album - in the 70's - so I'm looking forward to the concert! Google also led me to an article saying that the original guitarist died four years ago. That was on the Faroes English language news site, where I learned that a general strike started today. This would explain why work on installing the new broadband network has stopped. Since "certain bus routes" are affected, I may not be able to get to Viðareiði on Thursday, when the forecast is good. I've got a "Plan B" for the mountains - starting from the apartment - but on Monday I have to get myself to the airport.

At the end of the afternoon, I went out for groceries. I discovered that, although the Co-op was open, there was already a lack of fresh goods. Having spotted that a rowing crew was out, I went down to the quay, and managed to get two boats into the photo. The weather has been dull, or worse, all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.