I Witness

By KangaZu

England ...

… here we come!  More specifically … Northumberland!

It was a whirlwind of activity today as we got everything ready to leave for our vacation.  And Kiera wasn’t too happy about any of it.  She really doesn’t like when we go away even though we have someone come in to take care of them both.  Cheddar just takes everything in stride as he is more easy going.  He was sleeping inside his little cardboard house when I took his picture. 

We had everything ready and the car packed up for the trip to Newark airport by about 1:00 pm … which got us to the airport just after 2:30 pm.  We leave our car at an off-site parking lot that has a wonderful shuttle service to and from the airport.

Checking in at Aer Lingus was a breeze but then everything came to a standstill!  I had requested wheelchair assistance and the wait for that was ridiculous.  At one point we decided to just go on our own but then someone finally showed up.  With the wheelchair assistance it’s usually easier to get through security … and it was up to a certain point.
 
Because of my diabetic supplies, insulin pump and glucose monitor I’m not able to go through the scanners and have to go through the body search area.  This took FOREVER!  My stress level was through the roof … which isn’t good for my glucose levels.

But, thankfully, we finally made it through security but then lost our assistant as he took off with another passenger.  Richard was left to push me to our gate ... which was fine. 

Our flight left on time at just passed 5:00 pm EDT.  And arrived into the Dublin Airport the following morning at 5:30am Dublin time … which is midnight our time!  No sleep for me that night … my Fitbit data backs that up! I would be awake from the time I got up this morning at home until Friday night when I went to bed in Lucker, UK …  about 34 hours straight.

Tomorrow the adventure continues …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.