Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

View From The Top

This evening we went on a "50 mile drive" organised by the motor club. It started from Warwick Bridge, through Great Corby, to Croglin (after a little sentimental detour around Cumrew), through Renwick and then up Hartside. The view from where we turned onto the A686 was good, but it got better when we got to the top. There was a bit of a haze, which made the sunbeams shining through the cloud stand out even more.
The OH asked if I "remembered that layby?" as we turned right and headed down towards Alston. Thankfully it was an innocent reason - because he'd taught me to do donuts in the snow there many moons ago. Back when we did daft things like that.
Into Alston for a quick drink. Then back to Brampton on A689. We stopped at the bridge we always stop at with the pupsters on any journey to or from the kennels. Was quite tempted to go for a paddle, but the OH ran, actually physically ran, back to the car because he was being midged. Plus everyone else had driven past on their way back to the finish.

I'm sure we had the most fun tonight. We had by far the best soundtrack in our car, some seriously good tunes. Played loud too (or maybe "too loud"!!) :)

I think it was a bit of mixed evening for the OH. Seeing his dad's car on the road was quite emotional for him.

For me, it was a wonderful evening. Using roads I'd not been on in ages, ones I'd used to travel on my "short cuts" back from Uni in Penrith. Back when I was a student and had plenty of cash for petrol...

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There are things that I want to write on here about this evening and about stuff that's going through my head. I've been trying to find a way of writing them for about three and a half hours now. But I need to admit defeat and accept that I can't.

Once again, I am lost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.