Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

What to Eat

When you get to 100.

I said to my Mammy last week, let’s go out for lunch and a spin (leisurely drive for pleasure) on Wednesday.

Oh yes that would be lovely

What kind of food would you like to eat

I’d love a mixed grill with a couple of slices of lamb’s liver

OK … sez I

So I rang a few places. Yes we do a fry up but sorry no we don’t serve liver. People nowadays would never order liver.

Now if her preference had been for sushi, pan fried medallions of this, that or the other with jus, free range chicken a la this, that or the other; well that would have been no problem at all.

But no her order was for a mixed grill with lamb’s liver.

And then bingo. I rang Mr Doherty in The Kitchen Cafe in Bray. Big shout out to this man. Go and buy a breakfast from him iffen you’re in the area. “Ah no problem. Buy a couple of slices of liver and when you come in, I’ll throw them on the fryer” he said.

So yup. Here she is about to lash in to the mini breakfast with liver (she said no to the chips, white pudding, beans, mushrooms and toast - all for 11 euro). And my boring, healthy Caeser Salad (I’m so tame) HaHa

Her plate was clear in 15 minutes. Then we had a spin down to Dun Laoghaire, Sandycove and Dalkey on a lovely afternoon.

The extra is just whimsy. For fun.

My Mammy is a great character.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.