Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Surprise!

We see opossums fairly often, but usually in the evening cleaning up uneaten birdseed. But, a surprise this morning - right after I threw out the breakfast birdseed I looked out to see who had shown up and her was this girl. I say girl because I think she looks like she has a fat belly - probably a pouch full of babies?? Anyway - looking at the photos I took - which were a bit hampered by the rather dim morning light - I can't work out whether she is missing a right front foot, or whether she just has it tucked up. She's wet because it was raining a little while before I saw her. If she's missing a foot, she seems to be doing fine without it. I'll put another shot in extras - maybe you can tell if there are two front feet. Maybe she'll come back tomorrow and I'll be able to look more closely in person. Possums only live two to three years - even in the best of circumstances or in comfortable captivity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.