Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Great minds and all that good stuff

True to my moniker, Cellonerd, I have been looking forward to this day for many, many, many months now as Joshua Roman, my fave cellist was in town, performing as guest soloist at the Bellingham Festival of Music.

Rich and I, and my fellow cellonerd Joan and her hubbie Wayne, attended the pre-concert talk where Michael Palmer, Joshua Roman and Pulitzer prize-winning composer Aaron Kernis discussed their work. It was fun to listen to Joshua talk about his "Popper Project" on YouTube, something that I have been following avidly for the past year or two. How I wished there was a "question and answer" session tonight, as I found myself brimming with questions to ask of him!

After the talk, we settled into our seats in preparation for the concert which included two pieces by Beethoven (including the Eroica Symphony), the fabulous Rococo Variation by Tchaikovsky, and the west coast premiere of Dreamsongs, by Aaron Jay Kernis, for cello and orchestra.

Rich and I were seated in Row C, nearly close enough to help turn pages. I glanced to my left and observed that about 20 seats away sat my fellow blipper artistannie and her delightful hubbie, Arvin!

Further proof that great minds do think alike!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.