SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Hálgafelli

When I got up there were breaks in the mist, which suggested that it was thin, so this morning I went for a 3-hour hike from my apartment. I was soon through the mist, on my way to Klakkur (413m). It's the westernmost of the three peaks I can see across the fjord from my apartment, making it a splendid viewpoint (photo). 

From Klakkur, the ascent up Hálgafelli (502m) is easy, until the last 20m, where a rock band guards the summit. I found a scramble through this, and was soon on the narrow summit ridge (see extras two and three). There were fabulous views in all directions. For example south to the island of Eysturoy, and the village of Leirvík (fourth extra). A 6.1km tunnel under the mountains and the fjord links Leirvík and Klaksvík.

From the summit of Hálgafelli I surveyed the sequence of hard rock bands (see first extra) that constitute the route up Háfjall (648m). As I'd suspected, it's not something I could climb solo, so I dropped back down through the mist into Klaksvík.

This afternoon I dealt with a string of emails that had arrived in the morning, and relaxed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.