Still Rockin'

By RockArea

Kilve Beach Dawn

We were up at silly o'clock this morning to catch the sunrise at Kilve Beach. Kilve is known for it's fossils and it's quite an attractive beach with a mixture of pebbles and sedimentary rock layers. We were surprised to find when we got to the car park that the machine said 'No Parking' and on inspection it detailed that parking before 6 am would attract a £90 fine. Fortunately I managed to park on a wide part of the road where another vehicle was also parked but it did lead me to wonder what the parking ban between 10 pm and 6 am is about. I can only assume it's to prevent those couples who enjoy performing with the lights on from using this car park. Fair enough, I suppose but why 6 am? I would think there might be many upstanding responsible dog walkers, photographers and fishermen who might want to park the before 6 and I can't imaging why the doggers would still be around by then. I have to admit though that I have little knowledge of that particular hobby. Edit: Seems like that might be just my dirty mind and it's more to do with overnight campers as suggested by my contributors.

Anyway we got to the beach before the sun was up and it was a great sunrise. My blip was taken just as the sun came above the horizon and I love the colours and how it's lit the rocks and the stream that runs through the beach. I've got many more that I haven't processed yet.

After a snooze and breakfast we went off to Tarr Steps and the extra was taken there. The beech trees and miles of beech hedges through Exford are gloriously green and you can see this in the foliage by this ancient clapper bridge over the River Barle. It gets washed away frequently and now I believe they've painted numbers on the underside of the stones so it's easier to put back together again.

During the afternoon we visited Porlock Weir and Bossington where there are some old WW2 defences behind the beach. They're mostly ruins except for one well preserved pill box.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.