Manxie

By Manxie

Silver Clay Jewellery

I am so pleased with the results of my silver clay jewellery course, only four days and this is what I managed to achieve! I really love the dog but the leaf was a real show piece. We had to go into the garden and find a leaf we liked and then, over three days we painted, coat after coat of liquid silver clay onto the previously dried coat. When it was really dry the rough bits were filed off and a loop glued onto the back, again with liquid clay ( a bit lip slip), then it went into the kiln to be fired. We were all worried about how our leaves would turn out, but after we burnished them and put them in the tumbler for polishing we were all very pleased. The leaf itself is fired off in the kiln, leaving all the markings of the veins in the silver. The two small charms were made using little cake decorating cutters and the dog and round charm from molds which we made ourselves. Finally, the pendant on the ribbon was very nearly ditched, when trying to get an undulation by laying it over a drinking straw, I made a rip in the clay when trying to lift it from the card. Straight away I knew that I liked the effect and decided to go ahead and see what happened. I love the result. All in all a very good course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.