ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Allium Hollandicum

I didn't know we had our own version of this!  In Dutch, we simply call it 'bieslook' ('bees-loke').  AW and I love it when it's included in the food.  :D))

Flights booked for MNL.  Departure on Monday, 03 June, back here on Friday, 07 June.  This might look like 5 days, but more than half of this is flying time.  I will be spending a total of only 48 hours in MNL, enough to do what I have to do.

A very nice thing came between, though.  Cathay Pacific had cheaper fares, so I will be flying with them.  This means a stopover in HKG... and time to visit Jee Teh, my BFF there, who I got to know at university in MNL 45 years ago.  We're on WhatsApp and I pressed her number.  We ended up half an hour on the phone... and I will be staying for free at her apartment in MNL!  I will be visiting her during a long stopover on my flight back!  A truly unexpected treat!  I haven't visited HKG in decades and I can expect huge changes in the business infrastructure since that last visit.  More on her and HKG later.  It is too bad AW will not be coming along as Jee Teh and her partner know him well.  They have visited here but that was also a long time ago.  Oooh... this goes a long way back... so many wonderful memories of our friendship... most of which we maintained long-distance, meeting only every 5 years or so, maybe more.  Thankful for free phone connections!

Housekeeping, kitchen duties, MOOCKing, and after dinner AW left for his bridge evening with Sweed, Benna, and Lavinia because Lavinia won't be able to make it tomorrow evening.  Thankful for long friendships that have stood the test of time.  Jee Teh and I have lived fully and intensely and there will be much to share when we see each other again... this time, after 15 years.  So so thankful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.