SomethingAwful

By SomethingAwful

Ufton/Heart-Shaped... petals

After an apologetic morning whereby Thom and Sam went for breakfast and I stayed home and updated my blip (ha! Writing this two weeks after it happened!) and thought about what I'd done, Sam drove us to Ufton, where we went on a gorgeous walk around the nature reserve there.

It really was so beautiful - the scenery changed completely every hundred yards or so, there was so much variety and despite a slightly cold air the weather was beautiful. My counsellor had told me to take a long walk and try to notice three positive things, so this did a good job! After a lovely walk, during which I probably acted a bit like an excitable child pointing out all the pretty flowers to her parents and wondering aloud how where the word 'Cowslip' comes from (is it cow-slip, or cow's-lip?), and after saying hello to a couple of adorable dogs out for a walk with a nice mane, we sat in the car for a bit listening to Jessie J, eating tortilla chips with salsa and Morrisson's doughnuts leftover from the barbecue, and being entertained by Thom's handbrake antics.

Then back home, where I spent a surprisingly long time being almost-convinced by the boys not to go to the chaplaincy ball that evening. I ended up getting a bit annoyed and splashing Thom with water, and yet still making them apple crumble, (none of which they left for me to try!), and going to the ball anyway. Cinderella moment, ha. Stepped outside once I was there to say hi to Jack, who was on campus hours after his shift was meant to have ended 'cause he was rigging the sounds/lights for the Summer Party the next day.

Chap ball was pretty fun! Amazing party playlist to dance to after a few free cocktails, buffet food, and watching everyone try very hard to do 'kayleigh dancing' (thanks Ed for trying to help me give it a go)! Scary stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.