Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Flower Friday : : Arabian Starflower

This beautifully detailed little flower was growing in the middle of a field and had absolutely no observable foliage. According to the plant identification on my phone  It's in the asparagus family but is also a bulb which I think would make it more of a lily. I don't think it's very common here, so I offer it for Flower Friday in case somebody else recognizes it.

In another sign of the changing times, our local newspaper has just been touting the ways they have reorganized our real newspaper (made out of paper and delivered to the bottom of the driveway every day) when in fact what they seem to have combined two whole sections into one and condensed important stories into single paragraph 'newsbites'. I'm sure there is a dwindling number of people who still prefer to read their news on paper and not on a computer, but it also seems to be a sign of the times that they are dumbing down the news they do print. I'm sure this is one indicator anyway of why our political system seems so out of synch with reality.

The sun was back today by mid-morning after coffee with the usual suspects,  but I decided on a Peloton ride instead of a walk. I found another ride with Sam Yo, the ex-Buddist monk who is quickly becoming my favorite of all the Peloton teachers because I love his smile. He also has a Superman tattoo on his bulging bicep which is rather endearing.

I made a big pot of chicken chili for Cindy and Bruce who are coming for dinner with Hazel the basset hound. She does her best to get Spike to play with limited results, but enough that she doesn't give up. Cindy is a realtor, in fact the one who sold us our house, and we have been friends ever since. She is also the one who hooked us up with Spike so she is a woman of many talents. She and Bruce have a business partnership with Ramon and Patrick who own an upscale furniture store in town. The four of them flip houses and each of them have talents perfectly suited to ending up with beautiful and very successful results.

Ramon and Patrick have just bought the house across the street which was very dated and somewhat depressing inside. They have already gutted it and I'm sure that by the time they're finished, it will be lovely because they did the house next door a few years ago. 

John has been cleaning up the spaces where we took out the two streletzias and we're trying to figure out what to do with it now. Maybe nothing. Or my favorite solution...some big rocks....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.