Saturday: Are You Looking At Me?

I went into town this morning to go to 'Algoritam', Croatia's main bookshop chain. For a while I have been wanting to see what books by Croatian authors might be available in English. Although they had a pretty good English selection, there were virtually none by Croatian writers.

The only one I came away with was a series of essays about ordinary life during the Balkans War, entitled 'The Balkan Express - Fragments From The Other Side of the War'. by Slavenka Drakulic. I asked the lady at the counter whether there were other books available and she just puffed out her cheeks, exhaled, shrugged and then said, very laconically 'Not really'. As she didn't seem inclined to continue the conversation I didn't push it. I have since had a look at the internet and it seems that there are a few available on that very large bookselling website.......

It was raining quite heavily when I came out of the shop. I half thought retreating to a cafe but then I thought that the rain might feel quite nice, which it did. All it meant was getting changed when I got home.

Later on, I met Los Hermanos for a late lunch - they are back from their wedding and honeymoon and are looking very well and very relaxed.

One thing I do when K is away is catch up on DVDs of classic German cinema - tonight I shall be watching 'The Last Laugh' - an old 1924 silent movie by Fritz Murnau! Excellent!

And finally, I have finished 'Der Beobachter' - the crime novel I have been reading for ages. It was as enjoyable as the others by Charlotte Link, the author. My next read will be the latest edition of the ever excellent Slightly Foxed to which I have subscribed from the very first. Each edition is such a delight.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.