Too Many Layers

Here's the poppy I blipped as a bud on 28 June. Although it opened into this opulent double poppy, most insects such as bees find double blooms difficult to feed from and prefer 'simple' flowers where there aren't too many layers of petals that get in their way.

I watched a couple of bees approach this flower, then give up. This hoverfly is much smaller which I guess is why it was able to feed more easily.

It is an eye-catching flower but I won't save the seeds from these 'incomer' poppies as I am trying to grow only insect-friendly plants. I do like poppy seed-cases though.

Watched the Lions wrap up the rugby series in style this lunchtime. I'm still recovering from yesterday's men's semis - and it's the Wimbledon men's final tomorrow. Hooray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.