SilverImages

By SilverImages

St Arvan's Church, St Arvans

“The thing that interests me most about family history is the gap between the things we think we know about our families and the realities.”
Jeremy Hardy
A full day planned today, so I begin with a brief meditation to see me through the day. There’s the monthly Family History local branch meeting, and since I contribute to the journal I thought it would be a good idea to attend. I’ve also arranged to take F to the Chepstow branch meeting tonight so we can finalise arrangements.
Second stop Tredegar for the Blaenau Gwent Heritage Forum talk at Bedwellty House – the last time I attended I was talking too much and got locked in the car park! Took me three hours to get out and I missed the Chepstow meeting that time, talk about embarrassing. All went well today and after the enjoyable talk by William Gibbs (about Welsh sculptor John Evan Thomas) I once again headed for the café with J for a meal before heading off to Chepstow. Plenty to talk about again but this time I headed down to the car park to move my car well before closing time. Needless to say another engrossing conversation and I barely made it away in time to collect F.
My first visit to the Chepstow branch so we’d allowed plenty of time, just as well as the SatNav took us beyond the destination (not unusual where country church destinations are involved). Doubled back and soon found the Meeting Rooms, and had time for a quick recce of the outside of the church, looking really good in the warm evening sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.