globaltraveller

By globaltraveller

Arthur's Seat

On a (rare) clear, sunny and warm day, I decided to take myself to the summit of Edinburgh's most imposing geographical feature - Arthur's Seat, using the well-worn route. The conditions were fantastic and the normally ever-present wind was only mildly gusty.

It has been some years, since I last did this and to my mind, it didn't seem as much of challenge to reach the top. I'm not sure why I found this to be the case - it certainly isn't because I have become any fitter! Frequently seeing Arthur's Seat from North Bridge, just beside the Balmoral Hotel, I've always marvelled at the outlines of people moving about the summit at different times and in different weathers. It is almost as if there are always people above, watching down on the city below.

The views were astounding - in all directions. The sweeping bays round the coast towards North Berwick were clearly visible, with the Law and Bass Rock standing as prominent markers on the horizon. The shores of Fife on the north of the Forth were within touching distance, right along to Longannet at Kincardine, with the chimney of the power station delineating that part of the coastline.

What struck me most was about the City of Edinburgh itself from the greenery of the city to the low density of the housing on its southern flanks and to that seemingly undefined border where the city meets the lower slopes of the Pentland Hills. For a relatively small city, the footprint of Edinburgh appeared to be quite large too - an aspect you don't get when driving through town or walking around the streets at "ground level".

I'm pleased to have remade my acquaintance with this wonderful part of Edinburgh. I hope I don't leave it as long the next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.