isbiJG

By isbiJG

A day at the Vet School…..

…..for aging alumni. An interesting day for about 25 of us seeing how the education of the next generation of veterinary surgeons has advanced (or in many ways regressed).
The main blip shows remarkably flexible and lifelike animal heads and other body parts for the practice of tracheal intubation, catheterisation, blood collection and examination of ears and eyes. First extra shows artificial skin for suturing practice (I used to practice on my mother’s cushions while I watched the cricket on TV). Second extra is for students to practice manual pregnancy testing of cows with various uterus models to mimic various stages of pregnancy - in the early ‘70s we learned this and kept our arm warm at the same time!
The third extra is of what I think was a Palestine protest on the front lawn of Sydney University - I say “I think” because there were also banners and flags relating to aboriginal land rights, colonisation, homophobia, transgender issues, gender pay gap, workers rights and offshore refugee processing.
On the same lawn back in my day the Vietnam war/anti conscription demonstrators didn’t conflate any issues. There were smoke bombs, television cameras and police horses (much more entertaining for a young veterinary student first year out of home!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.