Scintilla

By scintilla

Private Pilot

Well 30 years + after my first lesson, I got my stuff together and my mind right such that I could demonstrate to a Federal Aviation Administration designated flight examiner that I'm qualified to fly an airplane safely. Strangely enough I slept better the night before the exam than the night after since I was so excited to have passed that hurdle. I was so fixated on the exam, I didn't think to bring my camera, so my blip is the marked chart I used on my check ride. Even though Anchorage is a relatively small city, it has somewhat complicated flight rules due to the proximity of three busy airports, military traffic, heavy cargo traffic from Asia (most refuel here), and busy floatplane traffic in the summer. I've given Blip short shrift as I was ramping up the flying, but I wanted to touch base those of you who have given me friendly encouragement and share my victory with you. The learning doesn't stop here. There's instrument, commercial, multi engine ratings as well as complex and high power plane endorsements. The aero club also requires additional training if you want to fly their planes among the mountains (which is a big chunk of Alaska).

For now I get to relax for a couple of weeks on a trip to Australia and New Zealand. Calico is performing with the Anchorage Youth Symphony in the Sydney Opera House. What a great forum and a great opportunity. I won't forget my camera for that trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.