Marik_i

By Marik_i

Ancient Egypt

This is now my personal setback in reading of the history of Egypt even though I already was well on my way in reading.
The books are:
* Wilbur Smith's book (Pharaoh) Faarao which has been translated into Finnish. Well written, and I have enjoyed reading it.
* Andrei Sergejeff's history of Egypt Egyptin Historia is by a Finnish historian, well written and also well read as an audiobook. It is only from Kleopatra onwards.
* Minna Silver's Tutankhamonin salaisuudet is written by a Finnish archaeologist, well written and also well read as an audiobook, but it was the one that stopped my reading. It decribes in detail how the grave of the young farao Tutankhamon was found in 1922, and how it is being unravelled item by item, even to the winding sheets. This is where I stopped, and I doubt if I can ever read further. What gives the right to another country to open and tear in pieces the grave of the ruler of another country? pack in boxes all of those sacred items and transport them to a museum?

I think that the Egyptians built and sculpted and wrote so much that their graves and mummies ought to be left untouched. I wonder if I am the only one feeling like this. Since 1922 the rest of the civilized world has rejoiced in having found out how the 19 year of pharaoh died, what he ate, how he exercised etc. 
I must be the only one who would have wanted to leave him in peace in the grave. Oh woe.

Extra. The Books.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.