A Different Tune

This young woman is a recent addition to the variety of buskers who entertain visitors and vendors alike to the Bellingham Farmers Market on Saturdays.

She balances on a ball, seemingly with no effort, while playing the accordion and singing, often in French, or whistling tunes that have a melancholy, longing edge. That's not her complete repertoire -- today I heard her sing English, and caught a lovely smile in another photo -- but it's those sounds of France that draw me to her act.

It's been nearly 13 years since our first visit there, and even after five more holidays in the same area since September 2000 and my almost nonexistent French language skills, I long to return yet again.

Blipfoto and France are intertwined for me, as it was on our last trip there, in September 2011, that I decided to become part of this wonderful community -- and have never regretted it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.