michigan man

By outdoorguy

A Cemetery Stone

I took Lisa to our city cemetery today (Oakwood) to place a new flag near her parent's headstone. Next door to their stone was this new one. 

This guy named Bill was a customer of mine on Fifth St., a nice guy and a wonderful father.

I could have shown the whole stone, which included a picture of him and his wife, and another line of flags...but I chose not to. Didn't feel right.

My cemetery point is to show how far the technology of gravestones has progressed. Pictures, scenes, and 3-D have changed things, and some of them are downright pretty.

It's ironic to me that the 2 lines of flags are straight from another local cemetery...The Great Lakes National Cemetery.

The piece took my mind to one of my favorite cemeteries. Google...Hope Cemetery in Barre, Vermont, and after you get it, press IMAGES. It is really beyond description, and is sometimes called a museum of granite sculpture. All the headstones are made of "Barre Grey" granite, some of which comes from the nearby Rock of Ages Quarry, also worth a visit.

I love it when the mind can take you to different places in your memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.